JTSI Space Industry Forum Summary

December 11, 2018 By

We were proud to co-host the WA Space Industry Forum with the Department of Jobs, Tourism, Science and Innovation @NewIndustriesWA at the Indian Ocean Marine Research Centre at UWA today.

Opened and chaired by the Chief Scientist Professor Peter Klinken (@ChiefSciWA), the session was then addressed by Parliamentary Secretary to (and representing) the Minister for Water; Fisheries; Forestry; Innovation and ICT; and Science Hon Chris Tallentire (@ChrisTallentire) and WAITTA’s vice-Chair Chris Hill (@WAITTA).

Some 14 speakers from industry and research then showcased their respective organisation’s capabilities and aims, and how their efforts provide benefits to the WA community. Among the topics were satellite services assisting diverse sectors including agriculture, diverse SKA-based developments and supercomputing, Airbus’s Zephyr, robotics, Intelsat and Iridium satellite constellations, and WA’s qualified engineering workforce: all highlighting Perth’s unique position to service Europe, Asia, Africa and the Pacific.

The speakers were
Prof Phil Bland Curtin University Desert Fireballs Network / SSA
Prof Simon Driver ICRAR ESA / Mission Control
Prof Peter Quinn ICRAR SKA
Prof Melanie Johnson-Hollitt Curtin University MWA / SSA
Mark Stickells Pawsey Supercomputing Centre
Prof Craig Valli ECU Cybersecurity
Susan Kreemer Pickford Engineers Australia
Robert Suber Intelsat
Sam Forbes Fugro Fugro Next
Anthony Walker Wesfarmers / Decipher
Keith Richardson Applied Satellite Technologies Iridium Next / Certus
Kevin Ferguson CSIRO

The underlying message was we have innovative technologies and services successfully being developed here in WA that are now being exported to the world.
Very interesting discussions were to be had at the networking session after the presentations – a number of previous INCITE Award and iAward winners were there, as were there entrants in the 2019 Awards.
Another example of WAITTA bringing our industry stakeholders together.

Gregg Boalch
WAITTA Alliance Chair